20% promotional discount with the voucher code DQ4ACADEMY24 on
Remote Pilot Certificate A2 & BOS Knowledge for Remote Pilots

Project

U-Space Reallabor Hamburg

Droniq and DFS implement first nationwide test site for drone airspace and publish recommended actions for establishing U-Space areas.

In regions with high air traffic, drones will be given their own kind of traffic system in the future. This should
enable drone flights to be carried out easily, safely and efficiently. That is the idea behind U-Space.

The concept for this has been developed by the European Union's air traffic control authority (EASA). The first requirements have already been
defined and are to be implemented by the member states by the beginning of 2023. Beyond that, the idea has so far only existed on paper. That is now changing.

How a U-Space can be implemented - from setup and commissioning to regular control of drone traffic - is now being demonstrated for the first time by Droniq GmbH and DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH.
Droniq GmbH, Germany's leading company for the integration of drones into the airspace, and DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH are now demonstrating for the first time.

Together, they are building Germany's first U-Space reallaboratory in the Port of Hamburg. The project will last seven months. It is being funded by the German Federal Ministry of Digital Affairs and Transport (BMDV).

Testing

of the European U-Space concept in the port of Hamburg

Implementation

of test flights for the transfer of the mandatory U-Space services with the help of the UTM into practice.

Testing

of recommended action for the further implementation of the U-Space concept in Germany and Europe.

Project duration

Project start: May 2021 Project end: November 2022

The goal

The U-Space Reallabor demonstrates for the first time how a U-Space and the roles and processes specified by the EU regulation can be implemented and tested in interaction.

This will create the necessary basis to enable the design of safety standards from the BMDV's action plan "Unmanned Aerial Systems and Innovative Aviation Concepts" and to bring about the rapid transfer of automated and networked flying into practice.

The U-Space Reallabor is thus a "blueprint" for the further implementation of this concept in Germany and in Europe.

The implementation

The project takes place in several steps. The planning phase marks the beginning. In this phase, the geographical boundaries of U-Space as well as responsibilities and procedures are defined. In the subsequent test phase, the technical implementation of the U-Space real laboratory and test flights are carried out. Droniq and DFS will then demonstrate how a U-Space can function during flight weeks. Drone pilots can then fly it themselves and test all the procedures developed up to that point. The project will be concluded with a project review and the preparation and submission of recommendations for action to the funding agency.

Our contribution

Droniq is taking on the role of U-Space Service Provider as part of the Hamburg Reallabor. Its task is to coordinate drone traffic in U-Space. To this end, Droniq issues flight permits for drone missions and informs pilots about current manned and unmanned air traffic and any airspace restrictions. To do this, Droniq uses the first fully operational traffic management system for drones (UTM) in Germany, which it distributes. Droniq receives the relevant air traffic data from DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung.

The results of the U-Space reallaboratory include recommendations and actions for the establishment of U-Space areas, their operation, and the design of the roles and services applicable in a U-Space.

With their help, U-Space areas in Germany are to be further advanced and introduced from 2023.

Funding source

Federal Ministry for Digital Affairs and Transport

Project partner

DRONIQ GmbH

DFS German Air Navigation Services GmbH

Associated partners

BOARD OF ECONOMY AND INNOVATION (BWI)

Hamburg Port Authority

HHLA SKY

HAMBURG AVIATION

WINDROVE

UDVEO

Project Phases & Milestones

  • Planning phase
    • Period: May - July 2021
    • Creation of an implementation concept for a real laboratory
    • Defining the geographical boundaries of U-Space
    • Air legal establishment of the real laboratory
  • Test phase
    • Period: August - September 2021
    • Technical implementation of the U-Space reallaboratory
    • Definition of use cases with different levels of complexity and simulation scenarios for the test flights
    • Carrying out test flights
    • Documentation of experiences from use cases and derivation of improvement measures
  • Demonstrations
    • Period: October 2021
    • Operation of the U-Space reallaboratory within the framework of on-site flight weeks
  • Evaluation phase
    • Period: November 2021
    • Carrying out a project review
    • Preparation and submission of recommendations for action to the grantor

Voices about the U-Space Reallabor Hamburg

We have shown in the real lab that a U-Space can be implemented anywhere: even in such a challenging environment as the Port of Hamburg. Droniq is already U-Space ready. This underlines our claim to become Germany's first U-Space service provider.

Jan-Eric Putze
CEO of Droniq GmbH

To test a transport system for drones and evaluate the opportunities and challenges, the Port of Hamburg offers the best conditions. Used wisely, drones offer enormous opportunities in the most diverse areas of business and society. With the U-Space Reallabor, I see the opportunity to test potentials of a new air transport under real conditions and to actively participate in its development. That is why I am delighted with the decision of the Federal Ministry of Transport to support the project in Hamburg.

Michael Westhagemann
Senator for Economic Affairs and Innovation of the Free and Hanseatic City of

With our drone traffic system, we are very well positioned internationally and thus already have a basis for integrating drone airspace. In this way, we enable fast and uncomplicated drone operations. This is an important step in the direction of digital aviation, combined with proven safety.

Friedrich-Wilhelm Menge
Managing Director Technology of DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH

In the future, the U-Space will allow the full potential of the drone to be used in urban areas within a given framework. This is a milestone for unmanned air traffic. We are proud to show for the first time what this future can look like.

Jan-Eric Putze
CEO of Droniq GmbH

Hamburg entered the drone age back in 2016. Various projects have been launched since then, involving the transport of tissue samples by drone, a control center for organizing drone traffic, or defense against non-cooperative drones at airports. Safe integration of drones has been a top priority from the beginning. The U-Space Reallabor - in close cooperation with numerous Hamburg partners - is an important milestone on the way to the regular use of drones, especially in the public interest, such as in the fire department or the transport of medical goods.

Michael Westhagemann
Senator for Economic Affairs and Innovation of the Free and Hanseatic City of

We show here how modern and digital an airspace for drones can be designed. To integrate unmanned aviation safely into the air traffic system, we combine our experience in manned aviation with innovative technological solutions. In addition to drones, we will also see significant developments in other fields of increasingly autonomous aviation in the coming years. We are proud to be at the forefront here.

Arndt Schoenemann
Chairman of DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH

To fully exploit the economic potential of drones, they must be easily and safely integrated into existing air traffic. The test flights mark the next step in achieving this. At the same time, we are moving closer to our goal of positioning Droniq as the first USSP throughout Germany.

Jan-Eric Putze
CEO of Droniq GmbH

With around 400 companies, Germany is the leading market for drone technologies. We want to strengthen and further expand Germany's technological lead. The U-SpaceReallabor has answered many important questions for us in setting up U-Space areas. We are now using this successful practical experience to enable progress. The first U-Space areas are to be established in Germany as early as next year. In this way, we will create safety in German airspace and enable more innovations in unmanned aviation.

Volker Wissing
Federal Minister for Digital Affairs and Transport

We will study the various elements of such a transportation system in real-world projects to gain an accurate picture of the technical and regulatory requirements. Electric air transport can provide an extension to public transport, airports and time-critical applications, and the service will be environmentally friendly, quiet and safe.

Andreas Thellmann
Head of the Air Mobility Initiative

It is important to put the first U-Spaces into practice in order to advance the safe integration of drones into the airspace. With the U-Space reallab in Hamburg, we have been able to impressively demonstrate how this can be done and at the same time, as the DFS Group, we are demonstrating our technological capabilities. Unmanned aviation is an important part of future air traffic, which will also become increasingly autonomous in other fields.

Arndt Schoenemann
Chairman of DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH

With the introduction of U-Spaces, the drone market will soon be opening an exciting new chapter. Within the scope of our previous U-Space projects, we have already gained the necessary experience to actively shape this: both in terms of the technical requirements for safe and continuous U-Space operation and the expertise required for this. We are looking forward to the time ahead and are well prepared.

Jan-Eric Putze
CEO of Droniq GmbH

More U-Space news

Products used

More projects & customer stories

DRONIQlive: How drones help to rescue fawns

Rescuing fawns with the help of drones is a hot topic. Every spring, farmers start mowing their fields and unfortunately fawns are often caught by the mowing machines without being detected.

Drones can be a great help in saving the animals! Equipped with thermal imaging cameras, drone pilots can spot the animals from the air before it is too late. This allows farmers, hunters or other helpers to rescue the fawns in good time.

In our next edition of DRONIQlive on Thu, 23.05.2024 at 7 pm, we will take a closer look at this topic. We look forward to your participation!

20% Aktionsrabatt mit dem Gutscheincode DQ4ACADEMY24 auf
Fernpiloten-Zeugnis A2BOS-Wissen für Fernpiloten

Projekt

U-Space Reallabor Hamburg

Droniq und DFS setzen bundesweit erstes Testfeld für Drohnen-Luftraum um und veröffentlichen Handlungsempfehlungen für die Einrichtung von U-Space Gebieten.

In Regionen mit hohem Flugverkehr erhalten Drohnen in Zukunft eine Art eigenes Verkehrssystem. Dieses soll
ermöglichen, Drohnenflüge einfach, sicher und effizient durchzuführen. Das ist die Idee des U-Space.

Das Konzept dazu hat die Flugsicherungsbehörde der Europäischen Union (EASA) entwickelt. Erste Anforderungen sind bereits
definiert und sollen von den Mitgliedstaaten bis Anfang 2023 umgesetzt werden. Darüber hinaus existiert die Idee bislang nur auf dem Papier. Das ändert sich jetzt.

Wie ein U-Space umgesetzt werden kann – vom Aufbau, über die Inbetriebnahme bis hin zur regelmäßigen Steuerung
des Drohnenverkehrs – demonstrieren jetzt erstmals die Droniq GmbH, Deutschlands führendes Unternehmen für die Integration von Drohnen in den Luftraum, und die DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH.

Gemeinsam bauen sie im Hamburger Hafen das erste U-Space Reallabor Deutschlands. Das Projekt dauert sieben Monate. Gefördert wird es vom Bundesministerium für Digitales und Verkehr (BMDV).

Erprobung

des europäischen U-Space Konzeptes im Hamburger Hafen

Durchführung

von Testflügen zur Übertragung der obligatorischen U-Space Dienste mithilfe des UTMs in die Praxis

Testung

von Handlungsempfehlung für die weitere Implementierung des U-Space Konzeptes in Deutschland und Europa

Projektlaufzeit

Projektstart: Mai 2021 Projektende: November 2022

Das Ziel

Das U-Space Reallabor zeigt erstmals, wie ein U-Space und die von der EU-Verordnung vorgegebenen Rollen und Prozesse umgesetzt und im Zusammenspiel erprobt werden können.

Damit wird die notwendige Grundlage geschaffen, um die Ausgestaltung von Sicherheitsstandards aus dem Aktionsplan „Unbemannte Luftfahrtsysteme und innovative Luftfahrtkonzepte“ des BMDV zu ermöglichen und die zügige Überführung des automatisierten und vernetzten Fliegens in die Praxis zu bringen.

Das U-Space Reallabor ist damit eine „Blaupause“ für die weitere Implementierung dieses Konzepts in Deutschland und in Europa.

Die Umsetzung

Das Projekt findet in mehreren Schritten statt. Den Anfang markiert die Planungsphase. In dieser werden u.a. die geographischen Grenzen des U-Space sowie Verantwortlichkeiten und Abläufe festgelegt. In der anschließend stattfindenden Testphase erfolgen u.a. die technische Umsetzung des U-Space Reallabors und die Durchführung von Testflügen. Anschließend zeigen Droniq und die DFS im Rahmen von Flugwochen, wie ein U-Space funktionieren kann. Drohnenpiloten können diesen dann selbst befliegen und alle bis dahin entwickelten Abläufe testen. Den Abschluss des Projekts markieren eine Projekt-Review sowie die Erstellung und Abgabe von Handlungsempfehlungen an den Zuwendungsgeber.

Unser Beitrag

Droniq übernimmt im Rahmen des Reallabors Hamburg die Rolle des U-Space Service Provider. Dessen Aufgabe ist es, im U-Space den Drohnenverkehr zu koordinieren. Droniq vergibt dazu Fluggenehmigungen für die Drohnenmissionen und informiert die Piloten über den aktuellen bemannten und unbemannte Flugverkehr sowie über etwaige Luftraumbeschränkungen. Dafür nutzt Droniq das von ihr vertriebene, deutschlandweit erste voll operative Verkehrsmanagementsystem für Drohnen (UTM). Die hierfür relevanten Flugverkehrsdaten erhält Droniq von der DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung.

Die Ergebnisse des U-Space-Reallabors beinhalten Empfehlungen und Maßnahmen für die Einrichtung von U-Space Gebieten, deren Betrieb sowie die Ausgestaltung der in einem U-Space geltenden Rollen und Dienste.

Mit ihrer Hilfe sollen U-Space Gebiete in Deutschland weiter vorangetrieben und ab 2023 eingeführt werden.

Fördergeber

Bundesministerium für Digitales und Verkehr

Projektpartner

DRONIQ GmbH

DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH

Assoziierte Partner

BEHÖRDe FÜR WIRTSCHAFT und INNOVATION (BWI)

Hamburg Port Authority

HHLA SKY

HAMBURG AVIATION

WINDROVE

UDVEO

Projektphasen & Meilensteine

  • Planungsphase
    • Zeitraum: Mai bis Juli 2021
    • Erstellung Umsetzungskonzept Reallabor
    • Festlegung der geographischen Grenzen des U-Space
    • Luftrechtliche Einrichtung des Reallabors
  • Testphase
    • Zeitraum: August bis September 2021
    • Technische Umsetzung des U-Space Reallabors
    • Definition von Use Cases mit unterschiedlichen Komplexitätsgraden und Simulationsszenarien für die Testflüge
    • Durchführung von Testflügen
    • Dokumentation von Erfahrungen aus Use Cases und Ableitung von Verbesserungsmaßnahmen
  • Vorführungen
    • Zeitraum: Oktober 2021
    • Betrieb des U-Space Reallabors im Rahmen von Flugwochen vor Ort
  • Bewertungsphase
    • Zeitraum: November 2021
    • Durchführung einer Projekt-Review
    • Erstellung und Abgabe von Handlungsempfehlungen an den Zuwendungsgeber

Stimmen über das U-Space Reallabor Hamburg

Wir haben im Reallabor gezeigt, dass sich ein U-Space überall umsetzen lässt: selbst in einer so anspruchsvollen Umgebung wie dem Hamburger Hafen. Droniq ist bereits jetzt U-Space ready. Damit unterstreichen wir unseren Anspruch, Deutschlands erster U-Space Service Provider zu werden.

Jan-Eric Putze
CEO der Droniq GmbH

Um ein Verkehrssystem für Drohnen zu testen und die Chancen und Herausforderungen zu evaluieren, bietet der Hamburger Hafen die besten Voraussetzungen. Klug angewendet bieten Drohnen enorme Möglichkeiten in den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Mit dem U-Space Reallabor sehe ich die Möglichkeit, unter realen Bedingungen Potentiale eines neuen Luftverkehrs zu erproben und aktiv an seiner Entwicklung mitzuwirken. Deshalb freue ich mich über die Entscheidung des Bundesverkehrsministeriums, das Projekt in Hamburg zu fördern.

Michael Westhagemann
Wirtschafts-und Innovationssenator der Freien und Hansestadt

Mit unserem Drohnen-Verkehrssystem sind wir international sehr gut positioniert und verfügen damit schon heute über eine Basis für die Integration des Drohnen-Luftraums. So ermöglichen wir schnelle und unkomplizierte Drohneneinsätze. Das ist ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung digitale Luftfahrt, verbunden mit bewährter Sicherheit.

Friedrich-Wilhelm Menge
Geschäftsführer Technik der DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH

Durch den U-Space lässt sich künftig auch im urbanen Raum das volle Potential der Drohne in einem vorgegebenen Rahmen nutzen. Für den unbemannten Flugverkehr ist das ein Meilenstein. Wir sind stolz darauf erstmals zu zeigen, wie diese Zukunft aussehen kann.

Jan-Eric Putze
CEO der Droniq GmbH

Hamburg hat sich bereits 2016 in das Drohnenzeitalter aufgemacht. Verschiedene Projekte wurden seither auf den Weg gebracht, in denen es um den Transport von Gewebeproben per Drohne, einen Leitstand zur Organisation des Drohnenverkehrs oder die Abwehr von nicht-kooperativen Drohnen an Flughäfen geht. Die sichere Integration von Drohnen hatte dabei von Anfang an oberste Priorität. Das U-Space Reallabor ist - in enger Zusammenarbeit mit zahlreichen Hamburger Partnern – ein wichtiger Meilenstein auf dem Weg zur regelhaften Nutzung von Drohnen insbesondere im öffentlichen Interesse, wie bei der Feuerwehr oder dem Transport von medizinischen Gütern.

Michael Westhagemann
Wirtschafts-und Innovationssenator der Freien und Hansestadt

Wir zeigen hier, wie modern und digital ein Luftraum für Drohnen gestaltet werden kann. Um die unbemannte Luftfahrt sicher in das Luftverkehrssystem zu integrieren, kombinieren wir unsere Erfahrung in der bemannten Luftfahrt mit innovativen technologischen Lösungen. Neben Drohnen werden wir in den nächsten Jahren bedeutsame Entwicklungen auch in anderen Feldern der immer autonomer werdenden Luftfahrt erleben. Wir sind stolz, hier ganz vorne mit dabei zu sein.

Arndt Schoenemann
Vorsitzender der DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH

Um das wirtschaftliche Potenzial von Drohnen vollumfänglich zu nutzen, müssen sie einfach und sicher in den bestehenden Flugverkehr integriert werden. Die Testflüge markieren den nächsten Schritt, das zu erreichen. Gleichzeitig nähern wir uns damit unserem Ziel, Droniq deutschlandweit als ersten USSP zu positionieren.

Jan-Eric Putze
CEO der Droniq GmbH

Deutschland ist mit rund 400 Unternehmen Leitmarkt für Drohnentechnologien. Diesen technologischen Vorsprung Deutschlands wollen wir stärken und weiter ausbauen. Das U-SpaceReallabor hat uns viele wichtige Fragen für die Einrichtung von U-Space-Gebieten beantwortet. Diese erfolgreiche Praxiserfahrung nutzen wir jetzt, um Fortschritt zu ermöglichen. Schon nächstes Jahr sollen die ersten U-Space-Gebiete in Deutschland eingerichtet werden. Damit schaffen wir Sicherheit im deutschen Luftraum und ermöglichen mehr Innovationen in der unbemannten Luftfahrt.

Volker Wissing
Bundesminister für Digitales und Verkehr

Wir werden die verschiedenen Elemente eines solchen Verkehrssystems in realitätsnahen Projekten untersuchen, um ein genaues Bild von den technischen und regulatorischen Anforderungen zu gewinnen. Der elektrische Luftverkehr kann eine Erweiterung leisten zu dem öffentlichen Nahverkehr, Flughäfen und zeitkritische Anwendungen, der Service wird umweltfreundlich, leise und sicher sein.

Andreas Thellmann
Leiter der Air Mobility Initiative

Es ist wichtig, erste U-Spaces in die Tat umzusetzen, um die sichere Integration von Drohnen in den Luftraum voranzubringen. Mit dem U-Space Reallabor in Hamburg haben wir eindrucksvoll zeigen können, wie man das tun kann und stellen als DFS-Gruppe gleichzeitig unsere technologische Leistungsfähigkeit unter Beweis. Die unbemannte Luftfahrt ist ein wichtiger Teil des künftigen Flugverkehrs, welcher sich auch in anderen Feldern immer autonomer gestalten wird.

Arndt Schoenemann
Vorsitzender der DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH

Mit der Einführung von U-Spaces schlägt der Drohnenmarkt bald ein neues, spannendes Kapitel auf. Im Rahmen unserer bisherigen U-Space-Projekte haben wir schon jetzt die notwendige Erfahrung gesammelt, um dieses aktiv mitzugestalten: sowohl bei den technischen Voraussetzungen für den sicheren und kontinuierlichen U-Space-Betrieb als auch bei der dafür notwendigen Expertise. Wir freuen uns auf die bevorstehende Zeit und sind gut gerüstet.

Jan-Eric Putze
CEO der Droniq GmbH

Weitere U-Space-News

Eingesetzte Produkte

Weitere Projekte & Kundenstories

DRONIQlive: Wie Drohnen bei der Rehkitzrettung helfen

Die Rettung von Rehkitzen mit Hilfe von Drohnen ist ein aktuelles Thema. Jedes Frühjahr beginnen die Landwirte mit dem Mähen ihrer Felder und leider werden dabei oft unentdeckte Rehkitze von den Mähmaschinen erfasst.

Drohnen können eine große Hilfe sein, um die Tiere zu retten! Ausgestattet mit Wärmebildkameras erkennen Drohnenpiloten die Tiere aus der Luft, bevor es zu spät ist. So können Landwirte, Jäger oder andere Helfer die Rehkitze rechtzeitig bergen.

In unserer nächsten Ausgabe von DRONIQlive am Do, den 23.05.2024 um 19 Uhr werden wir dieses Thema genauer unter die Lupe nehmen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme!