20% promotional discount with the voucher code DQ4ACADEMY24 on
Remote Pilot Certificate A2 & BOS Knowledge for Remote Pilots

Project

ADAM

Increasing the operational safety of drones, including simplifying flight authorisation

The ADAM (Advanced Air Space Mapping) project is a BMDV-funded project with the aim of using annotated 3D maps to increase the operational safety of UAS and simplify their flight authorisation. This makes it possible to reduce the number of on-board sensors, prioritise the detection of other road users and increase redundancy. This will make a significant contribution to the certifiability of autonomous flight and support the federal initiative to establish a German lead market for UAS. 

Investigation

how analyzed 3D maps can be used to simplify the operational safety of drones and their flight authorisation.

Development

of fusion algorithms and AI-based annotation of voxel maps as well as georeferenced, annotated 3D maps.

Demonstration

autonomous drone flights
beyond visual line of sight (BVLOS)
based on newly acquired
high-precision voxel maps

Project duration

Project start: September 2023 Project end: August 2026

The goal

ADAM relies on mapping using drone-based sensor data fusion. Georeferenced annotated voxel maps are created using AI data evaluation and D-GPS localisation. The generated maps are intended to guarantee safe, redundant trajectory planning at altitudes below 150 metres and are to be integrated into the UTM as an extended or optional geo-awareness service for use in the context of U-Space. The homologation of the formats and methods is being investigated and initiated. 

The implementation

As part of the ADAM project, individual work packages are being implemented step by step. 

Among other things, the existing virtual and real test field will be expanded and the lower airspace of the test field will be digitally surveyed so that a reference data set can be created. The survey is being carried out using a high-performance drone equipped with radar LiDAR camera sensors.

After the successful survey, fusion algorithms and AI-based annotation of the voxel maps are evaluated. In addition, georeferenced, annotated 3D maps are developed that can be used for the extended geo-service for U-Spaces.

Autonomous flight demonstrations take place on the basis of the newly captured high-precision voxel maps.

Our contribution

In the project, Droniq is mainly concerned with the provision of voxel maps to drone operators. To this end, the systemic and practical requirements arising from the intended expansion of the geo-awareness service are being examined in detail and how these can be implemented. In addition, Droniq provides access to the UTM, which was further developed as part of the research project and is used during the demonstration flights.

Project partner

FRAUNHOFER
INSTITUTE
IVI

FRAUNHOFER
INSTITUTE
IOSB

CONTINENTAL
AUTOMOTIVE TECHNOLOGIES

SEDENIUS ENGINEERING

TECHNICAL
UNIVERSITY OF MUNICH

BIT
TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS

AIRCLIP SERVICES

DRONIQ

PAUL & KAYSER
ENGINEERING-COMPANY

AEF

Funding source

More news about the project

Products used

More projects & customer stories

DRONIQlive: How drones help to rescue fawns

Rescuing fawns with the help of drones is a hot topic. Every spring, farmers start mowing their fields and unfortunately fawns are often caught by the mowing machines without being detected.

Drones can be a great help in saving the animals! Equipped with thermal imaging cameras, drone pilots can spot the animals from the air before it is too late. This allows farmers, hunters or other helpers to rescue the fawns in good time.

In our next edition of DRONIQlive on Thu, 23.05.2024 at 7 pm, we will take a closer look at this topic. We look forward to your participation!

20% Aktionsrabatt mit dem Gutscheincode DQ4ACADEMY24 auf
Fernpiloten-Zeugnis A2BOS-Wissen für Fernpiloten

Projekt

ADAM

Steigerung der Betriebssicherheit von Drohnen samt Vereinfachung der Zulassung

Das Projekt ADAM (Advanced Air Space Mapping) ist ein vom BMDV gefördertes Vorhaben, welches mittels annotierter 3D-Karten die Betriebssicherheit von UAS steigern und deren Zulassung vereinfachen soll. Eine Reduzierung der On-Board-Sensorik und Priorisierung der Erkennung von anderen Verkehrsteilnehmern sowie Steigerung der Redundanz wird hierdurch ermöglicht. Dies leistet einen maßgeblichen Beitrag zur Zertifizierbarkeit des autonomen Fliegens und unterstützt die Bundesinitiative einen deutschen UAM-Leitmarkt zu etablieren. 

Untersuchung

wie mittels analysierter 3D-Karten die Betriebssicherheit von Drohnen und deren Zulassung vereinfacht werden kann.

Entwicklung

von Fusionsalgorithmen und KI-basierter Annotation von Voxelkarten sowie georeferenzierter, annotierter 3D-Karten.

Demonstration

autonomer Drohnenflüge
außerhalb der Sicht (BVLOS)
auf Basis neu erfasster
hochpräziser Voxelkarten

Projektlaufzeit

Projektstart: September 2023 Projektende: August 2026

Das Ziel

ADAM setzt auf die Kartierung mittels Drohnen-basierter Sensordatenfusion. Mittels KI-Datenauswertung und D-GPS-Ortung werden georeferenzierte annotierte Voxelkarten erstellt. Die generierten Karten sollen eine sichere, redundante Trajektorienplanung in Flughöhen unterhalb 150 m garantieren. und als erweiterter bzw. optionaler Geo-Awareness-Service in das UTM zur Nutzung im Rahmen des U-Space integriert werden. Dabei wird die Homologation der Formate und Methoden untersucht und auf den Weg gebracht. 

Die Umsetzung

Im Rahmen des Projektes ADAM werden schrittweise einzelne Arbeitspakete umgesetzt. 

Unter anderem wird das vorhandene virtuelle und reale Testfeld erweitert und der untere Luftraum des Testfeldes digital vermessen, so dass ein Referenzdatenersatz erzeigt werden kann. Die Vermessung findet mit einer Hochleistungsdrohne statt, die mit Radar-LiDAR-Kamera-Sensorik ausgestattet ist.

Nach der erfolgreichen Vermessung werden Fusionsalgorithmen und KI-basierte Annotation der Voxelkarten ausgewertet. Zudem werden georeferenzierte, annotierte 3D-Karten entwickelt, die für den erweiterten Geo-Service für U-Spaces genutzt werden können.

Auf Basis der neu erfassten hochpräzisen Voxelkarten finden autonome Flugdemonstrationen statt.

Unser Beitrag

Im Projekt befasst sich Droniq hauptsächlich mit der Bereitstellung der Voxelkarten an die Drohnenbetreiber. Hierzu wird genau untersucht, welche systemischen und praktischen Anforderungen sich aus der angestrebten Erweiterung des Geo-Awareness Services ergeben und wie diese umgesetzt werden können. Zusätzlich stellt Droniq Zugänge zu dem im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekt weiterentwickelten UTM bereit, welches im Rahmen der Demonstrationsflüge verwendet wird.

Projektpartner

FRAUNHOFER
INSTITUT
IVI

FRAUNHOFER
INSTITUT
IOSB

CONTINENTAL
AUTOMOTIVE TECHNOLOGIES

SEDENIUS ENGINEERING

TECHNISCHE
UNIVERSITÄT MÜNCHEN

BIT
TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONS

AIRCLIP SERVICES

DRONIQ

PAUL & KAYSER
INGENIEUR-GESELLSCHAFT

AEF

Fördergeber

Weitere News zum Projekt

Eingesetzte Produkte

Weitere Projekte & Kundenstories

DRONIQlive: Wie Drohnen bei der Rehkitzrettung helfen

Die Rettung von Rehkitzen mit Hilfe von Drohnen ist ein aktuelles Thema. Jedes Frühjahr beginnen die Landwirte mit dem Mähen ihrer Felder und leider werden dabei oft unentdeckte Rehkitze von den Mähmaschinen erfasst.

Drohnen können eine große Hilfe sein, um die Tiere zu retten! Ausgestattet mit Wärmebildkameras erkennen Drohnenpiloten die Tiere aus der Luft, bevor es zu spät ist. So können Landwirte, Jäger oder andere Helfer die Rehkitze rechtzeitig bergen.

In unserer nächsten Ausgabe von DRONIQlive am Do, den 23.05.2024 um 19 Uhr werden wir dieses Thema genauer unter die Lupe nehmen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme!