20% promotional discount with the voucher code DQ4ACADEMY24 on
Remote Pilot Certificate A2 & BOS Knowledge for Remote Pilots

Customer story

LARUS

DRONE SUPPORTS SEA RESCUERS OVER THE BALTIC SEA

How can a drone find drowning victims in the open sea? This is what the LARUS project (Situation Support for Maritime Emergency Operations by Unmanned Aerial Systems) investigated.

The project is researching an unmanned aerial system that can automatically support the search and rescue of people in distress at sea. The TU Dortmund University of Technology, RWTH Aachen University, the German Maritime Search and Rescue Service (DGzRS) and the Bremen-based drone manufacturer Hanseatic Aviation Solutions played a key role in the project.

Thanks to Droniq's air situational awareness, dangerous approaches with manned air traffic could be avoided.

The goal

When a ship is in distress at sea, every minute counts. However, shipwrecked persons can be rescued quickly especially if precise information about the location and operational situation at the scene of the accident is available. Conventional distress messages, however, often do not contain all the details required for efficient deployment of sea rescue teams. Rapid localization from the air is therefore a crucial advance. As part of the LARUS project, an unmanned fixed-wing aircraft with a wingspan of 3.6 meters was further developed to meet the requirements of sea rescue services and enhanced with a wide range of communication and sensor components.

The implementation

Off the coast between Rügen and Usedom, LARUS integrated a drone into a scenario for the search and rescue of people in distress for the first time in the German maritime areas. The mission scenario consisted of tracking down a dummy in the Baltic Sea. The drone quickly found the object, transmitted the data to the sea rescue cruiser "Berthold Beitz" as well as to the Bremen sea rescue command, and thus guided the sea rescuers safely to the "shipwrecked person". The LARUS drone has its own modified transponder with which it can locate tracking transmitters, such as those used in modern life jackets. In total, the system flew more than 1,220 km in the final phase of the project - a large part of which it covered beyond the visibility of the ground station at altitudes of up to 760 meters.

Our contribution

Droniq provided the UTM (UAS Traffic Management System) service to display the air situation. For this purpose, the fixed-wing aircraft was equipped by Hanseatic Aviation Solutions with a HOD4track, a small LTE module with integrated SIM card and GPS receiver. The HOD4track reported the current position of the aircraft to the servers of DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung via the Deutsche Telekom mobile network. From there, the current air situation picture was made available to the pilot and the other project partners in a web-based manner. The position data of the relevant manned air traffic in the vicinity were also shown in the UTM. Thanks to this combined air situation display, two unauthorized entries into the airspace restricted for the test flight (ED-R) were detected in time and the test flight was aborted accordingly.

Project partner

RWTH AACHEN

SEA RESCUERS (DGzRS)

Hanseatic Aviation Solutions

TU DORTMUND

Products used

More projects & customer stories

DRONIQlive: How drones help to rescue fawns

Rescuing fawns with the help of drones is a hot topic. Every spring, farmers start mowing their fields and unfortunately fawns are often caught by the mowing machines without being detected.

Drones can be a great help in saving the animals! Equipped with thermal imaging cameras, drone pilots can spot the animals from the air before it is too late. This allows farmers, hunters or other helpers to rescue the fawns in good time.

In our next edition of DRONIQlive on Thu, 23.05.2024 at 7 pm, we will take a closer look at this topic. We look forward to your participation!

20% Rabatt: Sparen Sie fast 50 € beim Fernpilotenzeugnis A2! 

Zur Aktion

Use Case

LARUS

DROHNE UNTERSTÜTZT SEENOTRETTER ÜBER DER OSTSEE

Wie kann eine Drohne Ertrinkende auf offenem Meer finden? Das untersuchte das Projekt LARUS (Lageunterstützung bei Seenoteinsätzen durch unbemannte Luftfahrtsysteme).

Im Projekt wird ein unbemanntes Flugsystem erforscht, das automatisiert die Suche und Rettung von Menschen in Seenot unterstützen kann. An dem Projekt beteiligt waren maßgeblich die TU Dortmund, RWTH Aachen, Deutsche Gesellschaft zur Rettung Schiffbrüchiger (DGzRS) sowie der Bremer Drohnenhersteller Hanseatic Aviation Solutions.

Dank der Luftlagedarstellung von Droniq konnten gefährliche Annäherungen mit bemanntem Flugverkehr vermieden werden.

Das Ziel

Wenn ein Schiff in Seenot gerät, zählt jede Minute. Schiffbrüchige können jedoch besonders dann schnell gerettet werden, wenn genaue Informationen über Ort und Einsatzsituation an der Unglücksstelle vorliegen. Konventionelle Notmeldungen beinhalten jedoch oft nicht alle Details für einen effizienten Einsatz der Seenotretter. Die schnelle Ortung aus der Luft ist daher ein entscheidender Fortschritt. Im Rahmen des LARUS-Projekts wurde ein unbemanntes Starrflügelflugzeug mit 3,6 Metern Spannweite für die Anforderungen im Seenotrettungsdienst weiterentwickelt und durch verschiedenste Kommunikations- und Sensorik-Komponenten erweitert.

Die Umsetzung

Vor der Küste zwischen Rügen und Usedom hat LARUS erstmals in den deutschen Seegebieten eine Drohne in ein Szenario zur Suche und Rettung von Menschen in Seenot integriert. Das Einsatzszenario bestand darin, einen Dummy in der Ostsee aufzuspüren. Die Drohne fand das Objekt schnell, übertrug die Daten an den Seenotrettungskreuzer „Berthold Beitz“ sowie an die Seenotleitung Bremen und führte so die Seenotretter sicher zu dem „Schiffbrüchigen“. Die LARUS-Drohne verfügt über einen eigenen modifizierten Transponder, mit dem es Ortungssender lokalisieren kann, wie sie in modernen Rettungswesten zum Einsatz kommen. Insgesamt ist das System in der Abschlussphase des Projektes mehr als 1.220 km geflogen – einen großen Teil davon legte es außerhalb der Sichtweite der Bodenstation in Höhen von bis zu 760 Metern zurück.

Unser Beitrag

Droniq sorgte mit dem UTM-Service (UAS Traffic Management System) für die Darstellung der Luftlage. Dafür wurde der Starrflügler von Hanseatic Aviation Solutions mit einem HOD4track ausgestattet, einem kleinen LTE-Modul mit integrierter SIM-Karte und GPS-Empfänger. Über das Mobilfunknetz der Deutschen Telekom meldete das HOD4track die aktuelle Position des Fluggeräts an die Server der DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung. Von dort wurde das aktuelle Luftlagebild dem Piloten und den anderen Projektpartnern webbasiert bereitgestellt. Auch die Positionsdaten des relevanten bemannten Flugverkehrs im Nahgebiet wurden im UTM gezeigt. Dank dieser kombinierten Luftlagedarstellung konnten zwei unerlaubte Einflüge in den für den Testflug gesperrten Luftraum (ED-R) rechtzeitig bemerkt und der Testflug entsprechend abgebrochen werden.

Projektpartner

TU Dortmund

RWTH AACHEN

SEENOTRETTER (DGzRS)

Hanseatic Aviation Solutions

DRONIQ

u.a.

Eingesetzte Produkte

Weitere Projekte & Kundenstories