20% promotional discount with the voucher code DQ4ACADEMY24 on
Remote Pilot Certificate A2 & BOS Knowledge for Remote Pilots

Project

AMIUS

Planning of the first Bavarian U-Space

The AMIUS (Air Mobility Initiative U-Space) project is establishing the first integrated Bavarian U-Space as its overarching goal. AMIUS is part of the Air Mobility Initiative (AMI), which is funded by the Free State of Bavaria and the Federal Republic of Germany and initiates a number of research projects.

AMIUS investigates how a U-Space based on digital services can integrate today's air traffic, including its processes and technologies, with future deployment scenarios of UAS (Unmanned Aircraft System) and eVTOLs (electric Vertical Take-Off and Landing aircraft) in a common airspace.

To this end, the required air traffic management functionalities for safe, integrated and efficient operations, through the U-Space services defined by EASA (Network Identification Service, Geo-Sensitization Service, UAS Flight Authorization Service and Traffic Information Service) will be provided and demonstrated.

Investigation

how unmanned and manned air traffic can be integrated in a common airspace

Planning

and construction of the first Bavarian U-Space

Concept

as well as technical implementation of a U-Space demonstrator using a UTM system

Project duration

Project start: January 2022 Project end: December 2024

The goal

In order to guarantee the safe and efficient integrated operation of UAS, eVTOLs and general aviation in the future, new types of traffic concepts are required. The existing airspace management must be supplemented by an integrated UTM and thus expanded by the dimension of the previously uncontrolled airspace.

The AMIUS project continues to investigate how the data flow between the participating airspace users and the storage of relevant data can be secured against unauthorized external interference by various measures.

AMIUS is part of the AMI initiative (Air Mobility Initiative).

The implementation

To this end, Airbus Urban Mobility (AUM) will work with the project partners to carry out the holistic construction of a functional U-Space demonstrator with various components. The focus is on the design and technical implementation of the demonstrator using a UTM system and suitable ground infrastructures, supplemented by innovative communication technologies and a central control station.

Based on these digital services, flights within the Manching control zone, for example from the Drone Center to Ingolstadt Central Station, are planned as concrete use cases. These practical demonstrations will be supported by corresponding scientific model-based preliminary investigations, multimodal simulations with different traffic systems, feasibility studies as well as cost analyses by the participating universities.

Our contribution

As part of the AMIUS project, Droniq is building a U-Space environment around Manching and Ingolstadt.

With the UAS Traffic Management System (UTM), Droniq provides all necessary U-Space services (Network Identification Service, Geo-awareness Service, UAS Flight Authorization Service, Traffic Management Service) for the demonstration flights from Ingolstadt and Manching.

Project partner

AIRBUS URBAN MOBILITY

AIRBUS DEFENSE & SPACE

F.u.n.k.e. AVIONICS

University of the BuNdeswehr Munich (Unibwm)

TEchnical University of Munich (TUM)

APSYS RISK Engineering GmbH

SKYFIVE AG

DRONIQ GMBH

U.A.

Funding source

Bavarian State Ministry for Economic Affairs,
State Development and Energy

Products used

More projects & customer stories

DRONIQlive: How drones help to rescue fawns

Rescuing fawns with the help of drones is a hot topic. Every spring, farmers start mowing their fields and unfortunately fawns are often caught by the mowing machines without being detected.

Drones can be a great help in saving the animals! Equipped with thermal imaging cameras, drone pilots can spot the animals from the air before it is too late. This allows farmers, hunters or other helpers to rescue the fawns in good time.

In our next edition of DRONIQlive on Thu, 23.05.2024 at 7 pm, we will take a closer look at this topic. We look forward to your participation!

20% Aktionsrabatt mit dem Gutscheincode DQ4ACADEMY24 auf
Fernpiloten-Zeugnis A2BOS-Wissen für Fernpiloten

Projekt

AMIUS

Planung des ersten bayrischen U-Space

Das Projekt AMIUS (Air Mobility Initiative U-Space) errichtet als übergeordnetes Ziel den ersten integrierten bayrischen U-Space. AMIUS ist Teil der Air Mobility Initiative (AMI), die vom Freistaat Bayern und der Bundesrepublik gefördert wird und eine Reihe von Forschungsprojekten initiiert.

AMIUS untersucht wie ein auf digitalen Diensten basierender U-Space den heutigen Luftverkehr, mitsamt seiner Prozesse und Technologien, mit künftigen Einsatzszenarien von UAS (Unmanned Aircraft System) und eVTOLs (electric Vertical Take-Off and Landing aircraft) in einem gemeinsamen Luftraum integrieren kann.

Dazu werden die erforderlichen Funktionalitäten für das Luftverkehrsmanagement zum sicheren, integrierten und effizienten Betrieb, durch die von der EASA definierten U-Space-Dienste (Netz-Identifizierungsdienst, Geo-Sensibilisierungsdienst, UAS-Fluggenehmigungsdienst und Verkehrsinformationsdienst) bereitgestellt und demonstriert.

Untersuchung

wie unbemannter und bemannter Luftverkehr in einem gemeinsamen Luftraum integriert werden kann

Planung

und Aufbau des ersten bayrischen U-Space

Konzeption

sowie technische Umsetzung eines U-Space Demonstrators mithilfe eines UTM-Systems

Projektlaufzeit

Projektstart: Januar 2022 Projektende: Dezember 2024

Das Ziel

Um künftig den sicheren und effizienten integrierten Betrieb von UAS, eVTOLs und der Allgemeinen Luftfahrt zu garantieren, sind neuartige Verkehrskonzepte erforderlich. Das existierende Luftraummanagement muss dazu durch ein integriertes UTM ergänzt und damit um die Dimension des bisher unkontrollierten Luftraumes erweitert werden.

Im Rahmen des AMIUS-Projekts wird weiterhin untersucht, wie der Datenfluss zwischen den beteiligten Luftraumnutzern und die Speicherung relevanter Daten durch verschiedene Maßnahmen gegen unberechtigte äußere Eingriffe abgesichert werden kann.

AMIUS ist Teil der AMI-Initiative (Air Mobility Initiative).

Die Umsetzung

Hierzu wird Airbus Urban Mobility (AUM) gemeinsam mit den Projektpartnern den ganzheitlichen Aufbau eines funktionalen U-Space Demonstrators mit unterschiedlichen Komponenten durchführen. Im Zentrum steht die Konzeption und technische Umsetzung des Demonstrators mithilfe eines UTM-Systems und geeigneter Boden-Infrastrukturen, die durch innovative Kommunikationstechnologien und eine zentrale Kontrollstation ergänzt werden.

Auf Basis dieser digitalen Dienste sind als konkrete Anwendungsfälle Flüge innerhalb der Manchinger Kontrollzone, beispielsweise vom Drone Center zum Hauptbahnhof Ingolstadt vorgesehen. Diese Praxisdemonstrationen werden durch entsprechende wissenschaftliche modellbasierte Voruntersuchungen, multimodalen Simulationen mit verschiedenen Verkehrssystemen, Machbarkeitsstudien sowie Kostenanalysen durch die beteiligten Universitäten unterstützt.

Unser Beitrag

Im Rahmen des AMIUS-Projekts baut die Droniq eine U-Space Umgebung rund um Manching und Ingolstadt auf.

Die Droniq stellt mit dem UAS Traffic Management System (UTM) alle erforderlichen U-Space Services (Network Identification Service, Geo-awareness Service, UAS Flight Authorisation Service, Traffic Management Service) für die Demonstrationsflüge von Ingolstadt und Manching bereit.

Projektpartner

AIRBUS URBAN MOBILITY

AIRBUS DEFENCE & SPACE

F.u.n.k.e. AVIONICS

Universität der BuNdeswehr München (Unibwm)

TEchnische Universität München (TUM)

APSYS RISK Engineering GmbH

SKYFIVE AG

DRONIQ GMBH

U.A.

Fördergeber

Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft,
Landesentwicklung und Energie

Eingesetzte Produkte

Weitere Projekte & Kundenstories

DRONIQlive: Wie die Inspektion von Windkraftanlagen mit der Drohne funktioniert

Die Inspektion von Windkraftanlagen ist entscheidend für die Gewährleistung ihrer Leistung und ihrer Sicherheit. Doch die traditionellen Methoden sind oft kostspielig, zeitaufwändig und manchmal sogar gefährlich für das Wartungspersonal. Hier setzen Drohnen als innovative Lösung an. 

Wie genau die Befliegung von Windkraftanlagen per Drohne funktioniert und auf was es hier in Sachen Hard- und Software ankommt, besprechen wir in der nächsten Ausgabe unseres Webinars DRONIQlive.