20% promotional discount with the voucher code DQ4ACADEMY24 on
Remote Pilot Certificate A2 & BOS Knowledge for Remote Pilots

Project

LUV

Solutions & recommendations for action for the national implementation of the U-Space Regulation

With the adoption of the U-Space Regulation (Commission DVO (EU) 2021/664 of 22.04.2021) with immediate effect from 26.01.2023, the EU has created the legal basis for the establishment of U-Space airspaces.

In these geographic areas, UAS operators should be enabled to use UAS safely and efficiently in the U-Space area by making use of U-Space services. The implementation of the Implementing Regulation into national law as well as the concrete design of the processes, actors and responsibilities is the responsibility of the individual member states.

Elaboration

of recommendations for action for the national implementation of the U-Space Regulation

Development

of a U-Space operational concept with one CISP and several USSPs.

Elaboration

of process models for technical & operational implementation including pricing concept

Project duration

Project start: January 2022 Project end: March 2023

The goal

The objective of LUV is to develop recommendations for action for the national implementation of the U-Space Regulation (DVO (EU) 2021/664), taking into account technical, legal and organizational contexts. Within this framework, cornerstones for necessary adjustments in German air law are to be developed and further recommendations for action are to be given, among other things, for the design of roles, responsibilities and requirements for the technical equipment of air traffic participants.

The implementation

To achieve the project objectives, a U-Space Concept of Operations will first be developed, which envisions that U-Space airspace will be operated by one Common Information Service Provider (CISP) and two U-Space Service Providers (USSP).

The CISP provides the USSP with all relevant airspace and air traffic data for the provision of U-Space services. The USSP in turn provides the services defined for a U-Space (U-Space Services).

Based on this, process models for the technical and operational implementation of U-Space airspaces are elaborated in order to develop appropriate pricing concepts for CISP and USSP. This will be followed by a validation of the results with the help of simulation studies. Together with an elaboration on acceptance promotion, the results will be used to develop recommendations for action.

Our contribution

The goal of all work in the project from the perspective of Droniq is to gain clarity on the potential functional operability of a German U-Space airspace with multiple USSPs.

First, a U-Space operating concept will be developed, which will serve as the basis for the necessary embedding in the legal, organizational and procedural framework. It will provide the content-related basis and the overarching framework for further work on the various functional issues. This will be followed by the identification of a process model taking into account several USSPs with clear assignment of roles and responsibilities, as well as the conception of an economic model. The results of the work will be consolidated into recommendations for action and made available to legislators to support them in implementing the EU regulation in national law. These results are of particular interest to Droniq, in its intended role as a future USSP.

With the U-Space Reallabor Hamburg, Droniq was already able to gather comprehensive knowledge on U-Space and develop an initial blueprint. LUV can now be understood as a content extension of the setup investigated in the U-Space Reallab and builds on this research.

Project partner

Helmut Schmidt University / University of the Federal Armed Forces Hamburg

Ministry of Economics and Innovation of the Free and
Hanseatic City of Hamburg

DFS German Air Navigation Services GmbH

Hamburg University of Technology

HafenCity University Hamburg

HHLA Sky GmbH

Droniq GmbH

Products used

More projects & customer stories

DRONIQlive: How drones help to rescue fawns

Rescuing fawns with the help of drones is a hot topic. Every spring, farmers start mowing their fields and unfortunately fawns are often caught by the mowing machines without being detected.

Drones can be a great help in saving the animals! Equipped with thermal imaging cameras, drone pilots can spot the animals from the air before it is too late. This allows farmers, hunters or other helpers to rescue the fawns in good time.

In our next edition of DRONIQlive on Thu, 23.05.2024 at 7 pm, we will take a closer look at this topic. We look forward to your participation!

20% Aktionsrabatt mit dem Gutscheincode DQ4ACADEMY24 auf
Fernpiloten-Zeugnis A2BOS-Wissen für Fernpiloten

Projekt

LUV

Lösungen & Handlungsempfehlungen für die nationale Umsetzung der U-Space-Verordnung

Mit der Verabschiedung der U-Space-Verordnung (DVO (EU) 2021/664 der Kommission vom 22.04.2021) mit unmittelbarer Geltung ab dem 26.01.2023 hat die EU die gesetzliche Grundlage für die Einrichtung von U-Space-Lufträumen geschaffen.

In diesen geographischen Gebieten soll es UAS-Betreibern durch Inanspruchnahme von U-Space-Services ermöglicht werden, UAS sicher und effizient im U-Space-Gebiet zu nutzen. Die Umsetzung der Durchführungsverordnung in nationales Recht sowie die konkrete Ausgestaltung der Prozesse, Akteure und Verantwortlichkeiten obliegt den einzelnen Mitgliedsstaaten.

Erarbeitung

von Handlungsempfehlungen für die nationale Umsetzung der U-Space Verordnung

Entwicklung

eines U-Space-Betriebskonzept mit einem CISP und mehreren USSPs

Ausarbeitung

von Prozessmodellen für technische & operative Implementierung samt Pricing-Konzept

Projektlaufzeit

Projektstart: Januar 2022 Projektende: März 2023

Das Ziel

Die Zielsetzung von LUV ist es, Handlungsempfehlungen für die nationale Umsetzung der U-Space-Verordnung (DVO (EU) 2021/664) unter Berücksichtigung von technischen, rechtlichen und organisatorischen Zusammenhängen zu erarbeiten. In diesem Rahmen sollen Eckpunkte für erforderliche Anpassungen im deutschen Luftrecht entwickelt und weiterführende Handlungsempfehlungen u.a. für die Ausgestaltung von Rollen, Verantwortlichkeiten und Anforderungen an die technische Ausstattung von Luftverkehrsteilnehmern gegeben werden.

Die Umsetzung

Zur Erreichung der Projektziele wird zunächst ein U-Space-Betriebskonzept entwickelt, welches vorsieht, dass der U-Space-Luftraum von einem Common Information Service Provider (CISP) und zwei U-Space Service Provider (USSP) betrieben wird.

Der CISP beliefert den USSP mit allen relevanten Luftraum- und Flugverkehrsdaten für die Erbringung der U-Space-Dienste. Dieser wiederum stellt die für einen U-Space festgelegten Dienste (U-Space Services) bereit.

Basierend darauf werden Prozessmodelle für die technische und operative Implementierung von U-Space-Lufträumen erarbeitet, um geeignete Pricing-Konzepte für CISP und USSP zu entwickeln. Es folgt eine Validierung der Ergebnisse mit Hilfe von Simulationsstudien. Gemeinsam mit einer Ausarbeitung zur Akzeptanzförderung sollen die Ergebnisse genutzt werden, um Handlungsempfehlungen zu erarbeiten.

Unser Beitrag

Zielrichtung aller Arbeiten im Projekt aus der Perspektive von Droniq ist es, Klarheit über eine mögliche funktionale Operabilität eines deutschen U-Space-Luftraums mit mehreren USSPs zu erlangen.

Zunächst wird hierzu ein U-Space-Betriebskonzept erarbeitet, welches als Basis für die notwendige Einbettung in die rechtlichen, organisatorischen und prozessualen Rahmenbedingungen dient. Es wird die inhaltliche Grundlage und den übergeordneten Rahmen für die weiteren Arbeiten an den unterschiedlichen funktionalen Fragestellungen darstellen. Im Anschluss daran erfolgt die Identifikation eines Prozessmodells unter Berücksichtigung mehrerer USSPs mit klarer Zuweisung von Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten, sowie die Konzeption eines Wirtschaftlichkeitsmodells. Die Arbeitsergebnisse werden konsolidiert in Handlungsempfehlungen auch dem Gesetzgeber zur Verfügung gestellt, um diesen bei der Implementierung der EU-Verordnung in nationales Recht zu unterstützen. Diese Ergebnisse sind für Droniq, in seiner angestrebten Rolle als zukünftiger USSP, von besonders hohem Interesse.

Mit dem U-Space Reallabor Hamburg konnte Droniq bereits umfassende Erkenntnisse zu U-Space sammeln und eine erste Blaupause entwickeln. LUV kann nun als inhaltliche Erweiterung des im U-Space Reallabors untersuchten Setups verstanden werden und baut auf dieser Forschung auf.

Projektpartner

Helmut-Schmidt-Universität / Universität der Bundeswehr Hamburg

Behörde für Wirtschaft und Innovation der Freien und
Hansestadt Hamburg

DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH

Technische Universität Hamburg

HafenCity Universität Hamburg

HHLA Sky GmbH

Droniq GmbH

Eingesetzte Produkte

Weitere Projekte & Kundenstories

DRONIQlive: Wie Drohnen bei der Rehkitzrettung helfen

Die Rettung von Rehkitzen mit Hilfe von Drohnen ist ein aktuelles Thema. Jedes Frühjahr beginnen die Landwirte mit dem Mähen ihrer Felder und leider werden dabei oft unentdeckte Rehkitze von den Mähmaschinen erfasst.

Drohnen können eine große Hilfe sein, um die Tiere zu retten! Ausgestattet mit Wärmebildkameras erkennen Drohnenpiloten die Tiere aus der Luft, bevor es zu spät ist. So können Landwirte, Jäger oder andere Helfer die Rehkitze rechtzeitig bergen.

In unserer nächsten Ausgabe von DRONIQlive am Do, den 23.05.2024 um 19 Uhr werden wir dieses Thema genauer unter die Lupe nehmen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme!