20% promotional discount with the voucher code DQ4ACADEMY24 on
Remote Pilot Certificate A2 & BOS Knowledge for Remote Pilots

Project

Safir-Med

Transport of medical goods by drones

Drones are emerging as a viable solution for urgent and reliable medical transport. SAFIR-Med is a funded research and innovation project under the EU's Horizon 2020 program, investigating the use of drones in the healthcare sector. Specifically, SAFIR-Med addresses the use of drones within a U-Space - for example, in the context of tissue transports. The project is structured around five pillars that aim to achieve the objectives outlined below towards safe, sustainable and socially acceptable and beneficial urban air mobility (UAM).

Investigation

of drone missions in the Healthcare Sector

Implementation

of demonstrations to create measurable indicators of urban Air Mobility (UAM).

Testing

New procedures and processes that facilitate drone traffic in U-Space and integration into smart city concepts.

Project duration

Project start: December 2020
Project end: March 2023

The goal

The project goal is to test new procedures and processes that facilitate drone traffic in U-Space and its integration into smart city concepts. This should lay the foundations for establishing drones within U-Space as an effective part of the healthcare system and in urban air mobility in the future.

The implementation

For the development of new methods and processes, own demonstrations are developed and tested. The demonstrations will take place in Antwerp and Aachen, including the cross-border MAHHL region. In addition, a de-risking exercise is planned at the DronePort test facility in Sint-Truiden, Belgium. The knowledge gained in this way, will be further validated by additional measures. They will then be documented in a performance evaluation and recommendation report that refines the current principles of the U-Space architecture, thereby creating measurable indicators for Urban Air Mobility (UAM). These will enable smart cities to incorporate UAM into their mobility concepts in the future.

Our contribution

Together with RWTH Aachen University and flyXdrive, Droniq as a prototypical USSP ensures the local and electronic visibility of cross-border transport flights between Aachen, Maastricht and Heerlen (MAHHL region), thereby increasing the overall safety of flight operations. For this purpose, the UTM system and a version of HOD4track specially adapted for cross-border operations are used. Permanent visibility is also ensured by a Ground Based Situational Awareness System (GBSAS) from Droniq. Demonstration flights will take place during 2022. Until then, Droniq is actively involved in the planning of the missions and is working together with RWTH Aaachen and flyXdrive on the smooth integration of the specially adapted HOD into the UTM.

Project partner

HELICUS

RHTW Aachen

flyXdrive

Unifly

TU Delft

HyFly

DRONIQ GmbH

U.A.

More news about the Safir-Med project

Products used

More projects & customer stories

DRONIQlive: How drones help to rescue fawns

Rescuing fawns with the help of drones is a hot topic. Every spring, farmers start mowing their fields and unfortunately fawns are often caught by the mowing machines without being detected.

Drones can be a great help in saving the animals! Equipped with thermal imaging cameras, drone pilots can spot the animals from the air before it is too late. This allows farmers, hunters or other helpers to rescue the fawns in good time.

In our next edition of DRONIQlive on Thu, 23.05.2024 at 7 pm, we will take a closer look at this topic. We look forward to your participation!

20% Aktionsrabatt mit dem Gutscheincode DQ4ACADEMY24 auf
Fernpiloten-Zeugnis A2BOS-Wissen für Fernpiloten

Projekt

Safir-Med

Transport von medizinischen Gütern per Drohnen

Drohnen entwickeln sich zu einer praktikablen Lösung für dringende und zuverlässige medizinische Transporte. SAFIR-Med ist ein gefördertes Forschungs- und Innovationsprojekt im Rahmen des EU-Programms Horizon 2020. Das Projekt untersucht den Drohneneinsatz im Gesundheitssektor. Konkret thematisiert SAFIR-Med dabei den Einsatz von Drohnen innerhalb eines U-Space – beispielsweise im Rahmen von Gewebetransporten. Das Projekt ist um fünf Säulen herum strukturiert, mit denen die unten genannten Ziele in Richtung einer sicheren, nachhaltigen und gesellschaftlich akzeptierten und sozial nützlichen urbanen Luftmobilität (UAM) erreichen werden soll.

Untersuchung

von Drohneneinsätzen im Gesundheitssektor

Durchführung

von Demonstrationen, um messbare Indikatoren für die urbane Luftraummobilität (UAM) zu schaffen

Testung

neuer Verfahren und Prozesse, die den Drohnenverkehr im U-Space und die Einbindung in Smart City Konzepte erleichtern

Projektlaufzeit

Projektstart: Dezember 2020
Projektende: März 2023

Das Ziel

Projektziel ist die Testung neuer Verfahren und Prozesse, die den Drohnenverkehr im U-Space und die Einbindung in Smart City Konzepte erleichtern. Damit sollen die Grundlagen geschaffen werden, um Drohnen innerhalb U-Space perspektivisch als wirksamen Teil des Gesundheitssystems und in der Urban Air Mobility zu etablieren.

Die Umsetzung

Für die Entwicklung neuer Verfahren und Prozesse werden eigene Demonstrationen entwickelt und erprobt. Die Demonstrationen finden in Antwerpen und Aachen einschließlich der grenzüberschreitenden MAHHL-Region statt. Daneben ist eine De-Risking-Übung in der DronePort-Testanlage in Sint-Truiden, Belgien, geplant. Die so gewonnen Erkenntnisse, werden durch zusätzliche Maßnahmen weiter validiert. Sie werden anschließend in einem Leistungsbewertungs- und Empfehlungsbericht dokumentiert, der die aktuellen Prinzipien der U-Space-Architektur verfeinert und dadurch messbare Indikatoren für die Urbane Luftraummobilität (UAM) schafft. Diese sollen es Smart Cities in Zukunft ermöglichen, UAM in ihre Mobilitätskonzepte aufzunehmen.

Unser Beitrag

Gemeinsam mit der RWTHAachen und flyXdrive sichert Droniq als prototypischer USSP die lokale und elektronische Sichtbarkeit der grenzüberschreiten den Transportflüge zwischen Aachen, Maastricht und Heerlen (MAHHL-Region).Dadurch erhöht Droniq die allgemeine Sicherheit der Flugdurchführung. Hierfür kommen das UTM-System sowie eine speziell für den grenzüberschreitenden Einsatz angepasste Version des HOD4track zum Einsatz. Die permanente Sichtbarkeit stellt darüber hinaus ein Ground Based Situational Awareness System (GBSAS) von Droniq sicher. Die Demonstrationsflüge finden im Laufe des Jahres 2022 statt. Bis dahin engagiert sich Droniq aktiv in der Planung der Missionen und arbeitet zusammen mit der RWTH Aaachen und flyXdrive an der reibungslosen Integration des spezielle angepassten HODs in das UTM.

Projektpartner

HELICUS

RHTW Aachen

flyXdrive

Unifly

TU Delft

HyFly

DRONIQ GmbH

U.A.

Weitere News zum Safir-Med-Projekt

Eingesetzte Produkte

Weitere Projekte & Kundenstories

DRONIQlive: Wie die Inspektion von Windkraftanlagen mit der Drohne funktioniert

Die Inspektion von Windkraftanlagen ist entscheidend für die Gewährleistung ihrer Leistung und ihrer Sicherheit. Doch die traditionellen Methoden sind oft kostspielig, zeitaufwändig und manchmal sogar gefährlich für das Wartungspersonal. Hier setzen Drohnen als innovative Lösung an. 

Wie genau die Befliegung von Windkraftanlagen per Drohne funktioniert und auf was es hier in Sachen Hard- und Software ankommt, besprechen wir in der nächsten Ausgabe unseres Webinars DRONIQlive.