20% promotional discount with the voucher code DQ4ACADEMY24 on
Remote Pilot Certificate A2 & BOS Knowledge for Remote Pilots

Customer story

FlyNex / MITNETZ STROM

INSPECTION OF A POWER LINE BY MITNETZ STROM

Power lines must be inspected regularly for bird nests and erosion - a time-consuming and costly task.

At the end of January 2020, the FlyNex company inspected an 18-kilometer section of a power line in the south of Leipzig by drone on behalf of the power grid operator MITNETZ STROM. The background to this was a pilot project by MITNETZ, which investigated the feasibility of using unmanned aerial vehicles and artificial intelligence to replace manual maintenance by helicopter and make it more automated and effective in the future. Droniq supported with the HOD4track.

At a glance

0 m
Flight altitude
0 km
BVLOS fly
Image data
Capture
0 km/h
Speed
0
Masts in 45 min

The goal

Birds' nests in electricity pylons, damage to cables and crossbeams or weather-related erosion: electricity network operators in Germany have to inspect their infrastructure regularly. As a rule, this inspection is carried out by helicopter. A time-consuming and cost-intensive task, which is sometimes associated with considerable noise pollution for local residents. MITNETZ STROM tested whether a drone can perform these tasks faster, more efficiently and more automatically in a pilot project at the end of January 2020. MITNETZ STROM has almost 6,000 kilometers of high-voltage lines flown over by helicopter every year, an immense effort that is to be performed by drones in the future.

The implementation

At the end of January 2020, FlyNex inspected an 18-kilometer section of a power line in the south of Leipzig by drone on behalf of the power grid operator MITNETZ STROM. The drone covered the distance at a flight altitude of between 25 and 50 meters and a speed of up to 30 kilometers per hour. The UAS flew safely over high-voltage pylons, residential and commercial areas, forest and field areas and past various localities. A total of almost 40 kilometers of power lines and about 70 power pylons could thus be captured fully automatically and digitally in about 45 minutes. The Leipzig-based software company FlyNex developed the aerial concept in a very short time and successfully coordinated it with the Saxony State Directorate. At the beginning of January 2020, the approval for the BVLOS aerial survey was already available.

Our contribution

Drones are invisible to other airspace participants such as gliders, helicopters or powered aircraft; they do not transmit position data. To ensure that the drone's pilot always has an up-to-date picture of air traffic in the vicinity, Droniq equipped FlyNex's drone with a HOD4track, which sent its position to the UTM (UAS Traffic Management System) of DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH every second via Deutsche Telekom's mobile network. A web-based display showed the drone pilot this position as well as the position data of relevant air traffic in the vicinity.

Products used

More projects & customer stories

DRONIQlive: How drones help to rescue fawns

Rescuing fawns with the help of drones is a hot topic. Every spring, farmers start mowing their fields and unfortunately fawns are often caught by the mowing machines without being detected.

Drones can be a great help in saving the animals! Equipped with thermal imaging cameras, drone pilots can spot the animals from the air before it is too late. This allows farmers, hunters or other helpers to rescue the fawns in good time.

In our next edition of DRONIQlive on Thu, 23.05.2024 at 7 pm, we will take a closer look at this topic. We look forward to your participation!

20% Aktionsrabatt mit dem Gutscheincode DQ4ACADEMY24 auf
Fernpiloten-Zeugnis A2BOS-Wissen für Fernpiloten

Kundenstory

FlyNex / MITNETZ STROM

INSPEKTION EINER STROMLEITUNG VON MITNETZ STROM

Stromtrassen müssen regelmäßig auf Vogelnester und Erosion untersucht werden – eine zeit- und kostenintensive Aufgabe.

Ende Januar 2020 inspizierte die Firma FlyNex im Auftrag des Stromnetzbetreibers MITNETZ STROM einen 18 Kilometer langen Abschnitt einer Stromtrasse im Süden von Leipzig per Drohne. Hintergrund hierbei war ein Pilotprojekt von MITNETZ, bei dem die Umsetzbarkeit untersucht wurde, wie mit dem Einsatz von unbemannten Fluggeräten sowie künstlicher Intelligenz die manuelle Wartung per Helikopter abzulösen und künftig automatisierter und effektiver zu gestalten sei. Droniq unterstützte mit dem HOD4track.

Auf einen Blick

0 m
Flughöhe
0 km
BVLOS fliegen
Bilddaten
erfassen
0 km/h
Geschwindigkeit
0
Masten in 45 min

Das Ziel

Vogelnester in Strommasten, Schäden an Seilen und Traversen oder wetterbedingte Erosion: Darauf müssen Stromnetzbetreiber in Deutschland ihre Infrastruktur regelmäßig untersuchen. In der Regel geschieht diese Inspektion per Helikopter. Eine zeit- und kostenintensive Aufgabe, die mitunter mit erheblicher Lärmbelastung für die Anwohner verbunden ist. Ob eine Drohne diese Aufgaben schneller, effizienter und automatisierter erledigen kann, testete MITNETZ STROM in einem Pilotprojekt Ende Januar 2020. Fast 6.000 Kilometer Hochspannungsleitungen lässt MITNETZ STROM jedes Jahr per Helikopter abfliegen, ein immenser Aufwand der künftig mit Drohnen erledigt werden soll.

Die Umsetzung

Ende Januar 2020 inspizierte FlyNex im Auftrag des Stromnetzbetreibers MITNETZ STROM einen 18 Kilometer langen Abschnitt einer Stromtrasse im Süden von Leipzig per Drohne. Die Strecke bewältigte die Drohne in einer Flughöhe zwischen 25 und 50 Metern und einer Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 30 Stundenkilometern. Das UAS flog sicher über Hochspannungsmasten, Wohn- und Gewerbegebiete, Wald- und Feldflächen und vorbei an verschiedenen Ortschaften. Insgesamt knapp 40 Kilometer Stromleitung und etwa 70 Strommasten konnten so voll automatisiert und digital in etwa 45 Minuten erfasst werden. Das Leipziger Softwareunternehmen FlyNex entwickelte in kürzester Zeit das Befliegungskonzept und stimmte dies erfolgreich mit der Landesdirektion Sachsen ab. Anfang Januar 2020 lag bereits die Genehmigung für die BVLOS-Befliegung vor.

Unser Beitrag

Drohnen sind für die übrigen Luftraumteilnehmer wie Segelflieger, Helikopter oder Motorflugzeuge unsichtbar, sie senden keine Positionsdaten aus. Damit der Steuerer der Drohne immer ein aktuelles Bild des Flugverkehrs im Nahbereich hat, stattete Droniq die Drohne von FlyNex mit einem HOD4track aus, das über das Mobilfunknetz der Deutschen Telekom sekündlich seine Position an das UTM (UAS Traffic Management System) der DFS Deutschen Flugsicherung GmbH sandte. Über ein webbasiertes Display wurden dem Drohnenpiloten diese Position sowie die Positionsdaten von relevantem Flugverkehr im Nahbereich angezeigt.

Eingesetzte Produkte

Weitere Projekte & Kundenstories

DRONIQlive: Wie Drohnen bei der Rehkitzrettung helfen

Die Rettung von Rehkitzen mit Hilfe von Drohnen ist ein aktuelles Thema. Jedes Frühjahr beginnen die Landwirte mit dem Mähen ihrer Felder und leider werden dabei oft unentdeckte Rehkitze von den Mähmaschinen erfasst.

Drohnen können eine große Hilfe sein, um die Tiere zu retten! Ausgestattet mit Wärmebildkameras erkennen Drohnenpiloten die Tiere aus der Luft, bevor es zu spät ist. So können Landwirte, Jäger oder andere Helfer die Rehkitze rechtzeitig bergen.

In unserer nächsten Ausgabe von DRONIQlive am Do, den 23.05.2024 um 19 Uhr werden wir dieses Thema genauer unter die Lupe nehmen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme!