Deutsche Flugsicherung Deutsche Telekom
DE | EN

FAQ

Company

1) What is Droniq?

Droniq sees itself as the leading digital platform for unmanned aviation, enabling professional drone flights that are safe and in compliance with applicable regulations. Droniq combines the aviation expertise of DFS, the German air navigation service provider, and the competence in mobile communications of Deutsche Telekom, the integrated telecommunications company. Droniq offers a solution that integrates drones safely and sustainably into airspace and enables flights beyond the visual line of sight (BVLOS) by providing a UAS traffic management system (UTM) based on innovative mobile communications technology.

2) Who is behind Droniq?

Droniq is a joint venture between DFS and Deutsche Telekom founded at the beginning of 2019. The object of the company is the provision, distribution and marketing of services for drones and other unmanned aircraft in Europe. DFS holds a stake of 51 percent through its subsidiary DFS International Business Services GmbH (DFS IBS), while Deutsche Telekom holds a stake of 49 percent through Telekom Innovation Pool GmbH.

The Managing Director of Droniq GmbH is Jan-Eric Putze (since 1 January 2019). He had previously been Managing Director of R. Eisenschmidt GmbH, a subsidiary of DFS. Representing Deutsche Telekom as Managing Director is Ralph Schepp, previously Vice President for technology innovations at Deutsche Telekom AG.

Jan-Eric Putze is a graduate banking specialist and flight instructor with an airline transport pilot licence who joined DFS as a consultant in 2007. In 2014, he switched to R. Eisenschmidt GmbH and led the company from 2016 on.

Ralph Schepp is a graduate of business administration and has worked in information and communications technology (ICT) for more than 15 years. At Deutsche Telekom AG, he led the units Spectrum and Technology Strategy for the group.

Droniq GmbH is headquartered at the Europaturm in Frankfurt, Germany (address: Ginnheimer Stadtweg 88, 60431 Frankfurt, Germany).

3) What companies are supporting the company?

DFS and Deutsche Telekom started the Connected Drones research project in September 2016. The objective of the project was the safe and efficient integration of unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) into very low level (VLL) airspace with the aid of the mobile communications network. Numerous tests proved that UAS could be tracked and monitored using the mobile communications network, even beyond the visual line of sight of the remote pilot. DFS developed a UAS traffic management system (UTM) to display and process the UAS position data. This is based on the Phoenix air traffic management system, which is in use in air traffic control around the world. DFS is a pioneer in European UTM development. The Connected Drones project won the German Mobility Award 2018. The founding of Droniq on 17 December 2018 saw the successful conclusion of this project.

DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH (DFS) is a State-owned company under private law with 5,400 employees as at 31 December 2018 and is responsible for the safe, expeditious and punctual handling of air traffic in Germany. Around 2,000 air traffic controllers guide up to 10,000 flights in German airspace every day, about three million movements every year. This makes Germany the country with the highest traffic volume in Europe. The company operates control centres in Langen, Bremen, Karlsruhe and Munich as well as control towers at the 16 designated international airports in Germany. www.dfs.de

With around 178 million mobile customers, 28 million fixed network and 20 million broadband lines, Deutsche Telekom AG is one of the world's leading integrated telecommunications companies. It provides fixed-network/broadband, mobile communications, internet, and IPTV products and services for consumers, and information and communication technology (ICT) solutions for business and corporate customers. Deutsche Telekom is present in more than 50 countries. With a staff of some 216,000 employees throughout the world, it generated revenue of EUR 75.7 billion in the 2018 financial year, about 66 percent of it outside Germany (correct at 31 DEC 2018). www.telekom.com

Product

4) What does the product and service portfolio cover?

Droniq offers a broad-based entry into the commercial operation of unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) that complies with applicable regulations, especially for drone flights beyond the visual line of sight. We are introducing the first UAS traffic management system (UTM) operational in Germany on the market to integrate drones safely and fairly into airspace. The system is currently available in a beta version.

Droniq offers individual service packages on its platform, including SORA (Specific Operations Risk Assessment), the applications for permission to conduct specific drone missions from the aeronautical authorities of the German Federal States (Landesluftfahrtbehörden), training and testing (Drohnenführerschein, drone licence) as well as arranging suitable partners for the planning, conduct and follow-up of the flight (data analysis and reports).

In addition, it offers other services that are closely connected with the complete air situation display of lower airspace down to the ground for other users. For statutory authorities, digital interfaces to grant permission for specific drone operations and to set up temporary no-fly zones are available.

5) Who might use the products and services?

The UTM from Droniq can be used by the following customers:

6) What is special about the products and services offered by Droniq?

The UTM offers services fundamental to the safe operation of UAS in airspace for all phases of flight (pre-flight, in-flight and post-flight phases).

In the pre-flight phase, operators can register themselves in the UTM and plan their missions. They can also double check them – Are there any no-fly zones or airspace restrictions? Are there any other registered flight movements? Do I need to obtain permission to conduct operations or a SORA?

In the in-flight phase, operators can track their drone in real time and observe other aircraft in a combined air situation display, including those outside the visual line of sight of the user (manned, as well as unmanned aircraft registered in the UTM). In addition, real-time data, such as photos or videos, can be provided as needed.

The UTM components in the post-flight phase help to assess and follow up on the flight (logbook entries, incident management, battery management, for instance).

7) Can customers tailor the products and services?

Droniq offers its customers a one-stop shop for all services connected with drone flight. The service package is tailored to the needs of each customer. Droniq offers all products and services required for your planned UAS flight – from permission and training to the infrastructure to track your aircraft. Just contact us.

8) Are standard products and services offered?

The web interface to display the air situation and the online training courses for proof of knowledge are standard. Droniq also plans to develop standard solutions out of the individual solutions over time. Just contact us.

Provision of service

9) What does an individual order or application process involve?

At first, the experts at Droniq will check which rules are applicable for your planned UAS flight. Is permission needed or not, for example? If permission is required, we will then check if a separate risk assessment is needed (known as SORA for Specific Operations Risk Assessment) or a concept of operations (known as ConOps). If this is not necessary, we will carry out the application process with you.

If a SORA or a ConOps is required for your flight, we will support you in drawing them up depending on your prior knowledge and your requirements. If desired, we can train you so that you are qualified to carry out future applications. If needed, we can then help you select the right drone, technology and personnel. After obtaining permission from air traffic control, we can also provide assistance in mission planning and any communication with statutory authorities.

We also offer training if a qualification is required on drone use itself. As regards the flight, you will receive the infrastructure required from Droniq. This consists of the ground sensors, an LTE transponder to be mounted on your drone so that it can be tracked during the flight (known as the hook-on device) and the online access which you can use to monitor your aircraft and other manned and unmanned flight movements close by in real time (UTM beta).

10) Who will develop the products and services?

The service offered by Droniq are developed by in-house staff, who are in turn supported by experts from DFS and Deutsche Telekom to answer questions on UTM development and mobile connectivity.

11) What does Droniq need to develop a solution for you?

Droniq is the right business partner for your project or business no matter how far along you are with your planning – whether you have a fully formed plan or just a rough idea. Together with you, Droniq will create the foundation for your planned drone activities and support you in transitioning from the test phase to normal operations.

Prices

12) How much does it cost?

Prices will vary depending on mission (data volume required, length of the route to be flown, frequency of flights, hardware required). The pricing models are currently being drawn up. In the start-up phase, Droniq will be working with packages.

Delivery

13) What delivery times should I calculate with in my planning?

Delivery times will vary depending on the service package ordered and how far along you are with your own planning. Many of the training products are available online, are standardised and can be used immediately.

References

14) What solutions have already been used in the real world?

There were a host of partners and pilot customers during the Connected Drones research project. Concrete applications were tested as part of this project that demonstrated the viability of our products and services.

Deutsche Flugsicherung Deutsche Telekom
DE | EN

FAQ

Unternehmen

1) Was ist Droniq?

Droniq versteht sich als führende digitale Plattform für die unbemannte Luftfahrt, um sinnvolle professionelle Drohnenflüge sicher und im Einklang mit den geltenden Regularien zu ermöglichen. Dazu verbinden wir in der Droniq GmbH das Luftfahrt-Know-how der DFS mit der Mobilfunk-Kompetenz der Telekom. Droniq bietet mit dem UAS Traffic Management System (UTM) basierend auf innovativer Mobilfunktechnologie eine Lösung, die Drohnen sicher und nachhaltig in den Luftraum integriert und Flüge außerhalb der Sichtweite ermöglicht.

2) Wer steht hinter Droniq?

Mit dem Gemeinschaftsunternehmen Droniq GmbH entstand Anfang 2019 eine gemeinsame Firma zwischen DFS und Telekom. Geschäftsziel ist die Erbringung, Vermarktung und der Vertrieb von Dienstleistungen für Drohnen und andere unbemannte Luftfahrzeuge in Europa. Seitens der DFS hält die Tochtergesellschaft DFS International Business Services GmbH (DFS IBS) 51 Prozent der Anteile, die Deutsche Telekom ist über ihre Gesellschaft Telekom Innovation Pool GmbH mit 49 Prozent beteiligt.

Geschäftsführer der Droniq GmbH ist seit dem 1. Januar 2019 Jan-Eric Putze, zuvor Geschäftsführer der R. Eisenschmidt GmbH. Ebenfalls Geschäftsführer seitens der Telekom ist Ralph Schepp, bisher Vice President für Technologieinnovation bei der Telekom AG.

Jan-Eric Putze ist Bankfachwirt, Verkehrspilot und Fluglehrer und trat 2007 als Consultant in die DFS ein. 2014 wechselte er zur R. Eisenschmidt GmbH und hatte dort seit 2016 die Geschäftsführungsposition inne.

Ralph Schepp ist Diplom-Kaufmann und seit mehr als 15 Jahren in der IT und Telekom-Branche tätig. Innerhalb der Deutschen Telekom AG führte er zuletzt die Bereiche Technologie- und Spektrum-Strategie für die Gruppe.

Die Droniq GmbH hat ihren Sitz am Europaturm in Frankfurt (Anschrift: Ginnheimer Stadtweg 88, 60431 Frankfurt).

3) Welche Gesellschafter unterstützen die Unternehmung?

DFS und Deutsche Telekom starteten im September 2016 das Forschungsprojekt „Connected Drones". Ziel war die sichere und effiziente Integration von unbemannten Fluggeräten (Unmanned Aircraft Systems, UAS) im bodennahen Luftraum mittels Mobilfunk. Mithilfe verschiedener Tests wurde bewiesen, dass über das Mobilfunknetz unbemannte Fluggeräte auch außerhalb der Sichtweite des steuernden Piloten geortet und überwacht werden können. Für die Darstellung und Verarbeitung der Positionsdaten der Fluggeräte entwickelte die DFS ein UAS Traffic Management System (UTM). Dieses basiert auf dem Flugsicherungssystem PHOENIX, das weltweit im Flugsicherungssektor im Einsatz ist. Die DFS gilt in Europa als richtungsweisend im Bereich UTM-Entwicklung. „Connected Drones“ wurde zudem mit dem Mobilitätspreis 2018 ausgezeichnet. Das Projekt wurde mit der Gründung der Droniq GmbH am 17.12.2018 erfolgreich abgeschlossen.

Die DFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH ist ein bundeseigenes, privatrechtlich organisiertes Unternehmen, das mit seinen rund 5.400 Mitarbeitern (Stand 31.12.2018) für einen sicheren und pünktlichen Flugverlauf sorgt. Die rund 2.000 Fluglotsen leiten täglich bis zu 10.000 Flüge durch den deutschen Luftraum, im Jahr sind es ca. drei Millionen. Deutschland ist damit das verkehrsreichste Land in Europa. Das Unternehmen betreibt Kontrollzentralen in Langen, Bremen, Karlsruhe und München sowie Tower an den 16 internationalen Verkehrsflughäfen in Deutschland. www.dfs.de

Die Deutsche Telekom AG gehört mit rund 178 Millionen Mobilfunk-Kunden, 28 Millionen Festnetz- und 20 Millionen Breitband-Anschlüssen zu den führenden, integrierten Telekommunikations-Unternehmen weltweit. Sie bietet Produkte und Dienstleistungen aus den Bereichen Festnetz/Breitband, Mobilfunk, Internet und Internet-TV für Privatkunden sowie Lösungen der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik für Groß- und Geschäftskunden. Die Deutsche Telekom ist in mehr als 50 Ländern vertreten. Im Geschäftsjahr 2018 hat sie mit weltweit rund 216.000 Mitarbeitern einen Umsatz von 75,7 Milliarden Euro erwirtschaftet – rund 66 Prozent davon außerhalb Deutschlands. (Stand 31.12.2018) www.telekom.com

Produkt

4) Was ist das Produkt-/ Leistungsportfolio?

Die Droniq bietet einen Einstieg in den kommerziellen Betrieb von unbemannten Fluggeräten (UAS) auf breiter Ebene, insbesondere für Drohnenflüge außerhalb der Sichtweite im Einklang mit den Regularien. Dazu führen wir das deutschlandweit erste einsatzfähige UAS Traffic Management System (UTM) in den Markt ein, um Drohnen sicher und effizient in den Luftraum zu integrieren. Dieses System ist aktuell in einer Betaversion verfügbar.

Droniq bietet mit ihrer Plattform individuelle Servicepakete – inklusive SORA (Specific Operations Risk Assessment), Beantragung der Aufstiegserlaubnis bei den Landesluftfahrtbehörden, Schulung und Prüfung (Drohnenführerschein), Vermittlung geeigneter Partner von der Planung über die Ausführung bis hin zur Nachbereitung des Flugs (Datenanalyse und -auswertung).

Außerdem können zusätzliche Services in engem Zusammenhang mit der kompletten Luftlagedarstellung für den unteren Luftraum bis zum Boden auch für andere Nutzer bereitgestellt werden. Für Behörden werden digitale Schnittstellen zur Erteilung einer Aufstiegsgenehmigung sowie zur Errichtung von temporären Flugverbotszonen zur Verfügung gestellt.

5) Welche Einsatzmöglichkeiten gibt es?

Das UTM von Droniq kann von folgenden Kunden genutzt werden:

6) Was ist das Besondere an dem Angebot von Droniq?

Für alle Phasen des Flugs (Pre-Flight, In-Flight und Post-Flight Phase) bietet das UTM maßgebliche Leistungen zum sicheren Betrieb von UAS im Luftraum.

In der Pre-Flight Phase kann sich der Operateur im UTM registrieren, seine Mission planen und diese gegenprüfen (Sind Flugverbotszonen / Luftraumbeschränkungen vorhanden? Gibt es andere angemeldete Flugbewegungen? Benötige ich eine Aufstiegsgenehmigung oder eine SORA?).

In der In-Flight Phase kann der Operateur seine Drohne in Echtzeit tracken und andere Luftfahrzeuge in einer kombinierten Luftlagedarstellung beobachten, auch die, die sich außerhalb der Sichtweite des Nutzers befinden (bemannte sowie im UTM registrierte unbemannte). Außerdem erhält er nach Bedarf Echtzeitdaten wie Fotos oder Videos.

Die UTM-Komponenten der Post-Flight Phase helfen bei der Auswertung und Nachbereitung des Flugs (z. B. Pflege des Logbuchs, Incident Management, Batteriemanagement).

7) Kann der Kunde seine Lösung individuell gestalten?

Droniq bietet ihren Kunden alle Services rund um den Drohnenflug aus einer Hand. Dabei richtet sich das Servicepaket ganz nach den individuellen Bedürfnissen des Kunden. Bei Droniq bekommen Sie alle Produkte und Services, die für Ihren geplanten UAS-Flug erforderlich sind – von der Genehmigung, über Schulung bis hin zur Infrastruktur für die Ortung des Fluggeräts. Sprechen Sie uns einfach an! Kontakt

8) Gibt es auch Standard-Lösungen bzw. -Produkte und -Dienstleistungen?

Das Webinterface zur Darstellung der Luftlage sowie die Online-Schulungen zum Kenntnisnachweis sind Standardlösungen. Droniq plant zudem, aus individuellen Lösungen nach und nach Standardprodukte zu entwickeln. Kontakt

Leistungserbringung

9) Wie sieht der Ablauf einer Bestellung bzw. eines individuellen Auftrags aus?

Zunächst prüfen die Droniq-Experten, welche Auflagen – wie beispielsweise eine Aufstiegsgenehmigung – für Ihren geplanten UAS-Flug gelten. Sollte eine Genehmigung erforderlich sein, prüfen wir als nächstes, ob vor der Antragstellung eine gesonderte Risikoanalyse (SORA, von engl. Specific Operations Risk Assessment) sowie eine Betriebsbeschreibung (ConOps, von engl. Concept of Operations) vorliegen müssen. Sollte dies nicht nötig sein, führen wir gemeinsam mit Ihnen die Antragstellung durch.

Sofern eine SORA oder ein ConOps für Ihren Flug nötig ist, unterstützen wir Sie auf Basis Ihrer individuellen Vorkenntnisse und Anforderungen bei der Erstellung. Zusätzlich können wir Sie auf Wunsch auch für zukünftige Antragstellungen schulen und qualifizieren. Bei Bedarf helfen wir Ihnen anschließend bei der Auswahl von Drohnen, Technik und Personal sowie beim Erhalt der Flugverkehrskontrollfreigabe durch die Flugsicherung, der Missionsplanung oder sonstiger Kommunikation mit Behörden.

Sollte darüber hinaus eine Qualifikation für den Umgang mit der Drohne selbst erforderlich sein, halten wir auch hier Fortbildungsmöglichkeiten für Sie parat. Für den Flug erhalten Sie die nötige Infrastruktur von Droniq, bestehend aus einem System für die Bodensensorik, einem „LTE-Transponder“ (Hook-on-Device) zur Ortung ihres Fluggeräts während des Flugs sowie einem Online-Zugang, worüber Sie Ihr Fluggerät sowie weitere bemannte und unbemannte Flugbewegungen in der Nähe in Echtzeit beobachten können (UTM Beta).

10) Wer entwickelt unsere Lösung?

Der Service der Droniq wird von eigenen Mitarbeitern entwickelt, ebenso stehen bei Fragen zur UTM-Entwicklung oder der Mobilfunkkonnektivität die Experten von DFS und Telekom zur Verfügung.

11) Was benötigt Droniq für die Lösungsentwicklung?

Ob fertiges Konzept oder grobe Idee – egal welchen Detaillierungsgrad Ihr Projekt oder Ihre Geschäftsidee hat, Droniq ist immer der richtige Ansprechpartner. Zusammen mit Ihren Fachleuten entwickeln die Droniq-Experten die Grundlagen für die geplanten Drohnenaktivitäten und unterstützen bei der Überführung von der Testphase in einen Regelbetrieb.

Preis

12) Wie ist die Preisgestaltung?

Es gibt verschiedene, leistungsabhängige Preismodelle, die je nach Mission (erforderliches Datenvolumen, Länge der Flugstrecke, Häufigkeit der Flüge, erforderliche Hardware) variieren. Die exakte Preisbestimmung ist noch in Arbeit. In der Startphase arbeitet Droniq zunächst mit Paketangeboten.

Lieferung

13) Welche Lieferzeit müssen wir bei einer Bestellung einplanen?

Die Lieferzeiten variieren und sind abhängig vom gewünschten Servicepaket und dem Reifegrad Ihres Vorhabens. Viele Produkte im Bereich Schulung & Training sind onlinebasiert und standardisiert und können sofort genutzt werden.

Referenzen

14) Welche Lösungen sind bereits umgesetzt worden?

Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts „Connected Drones“ gab es bereits zahlreiche Partner und Pilotkunden, mit denen wir bereits konkrete Anwendungen getestet und die Marktfähigkeit unseres Angebots bewiesen haben.